Dana Baiocco Nominated to Replace CPSC Commissioner Robinson

On September 21, 2017, President Trump nominated Dana Baiocco to replace Commissioner Marietta S. Robinson when her term at the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) expires on October 26. Ms. Baiocco is a partner at Jones Day in Boston and a seasoned product liability litigator. Ms. Baiocco received a B.S. in 1988 from Ohio University and a J.D. from Duquesne University in 1997. She has experience in mass torts and consumer product litigation, as well as representing clients in CPSC matters.
Ms. Baiocco must still be confirmed by the Senate. Notably, the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation has scheduled a confirmation hearing on September 27, 2017 for President Trump’s nomination of Acting Chairman Ann Marie Buerkle to become the permanent Chairman of the CPSC.

Confirmation of Ms. Baiocco would provide a 3-2 Republican majority on the Commission. If the confirmation process extends beyond October 26, Commissioner Robinson can continue to sit until her successor is confirmed.

This blog was written by Timothy Mullin at Miles & Stockbridge.

Opinions and conclusions in this post are solely those of the author unless otherwise indicated. The information contained in this blog is general in nature and is not offered and cannot be considered as legal advice for any particular situation. The author has provided the links referenced above for information purposes only and by doing so, does not adopt or incorporate the contents. Any federal tax advice provided in this communication is not intended or written by the author to be used, and cannot be used by the recipient, for the purpose of avoiding penalties which may be imposed on the recipient by the IRS. Please contact the author if you would like to receive written advice in a format which complies with IRS rules and may be relied upon to avoid penalties.